Saturday, November 13, 2010

The Good, The Bad, The Ugly, Minnesota Vikings

The Good: Adrian Peterson, in the first nine weeks Adrian has had 180 carries for 857 yards, 7 rushing touchdowns, and ZERO fumbles. This has been such a relive for Vikings fans, coaches, and players. Seeing productive drives going down field and then seeing the football pop out can tick anyone off. Adrian has work extensively on his ball handling this off season and it is showing. He is more confident and patient, holes are opening up and he is hitting them later rather then earlier. If there is nothing good that comes out of this season Adrian will be the bright spot. He has shown that not only did he refine his running skills he has honed in on his receiving skills. Threw the first nine weeks he has 26 receptions and 257 yards, with 1 touchdown. He has and is giving Favre a dump receiver and it is paying off well at 9.8 yards per reception, he is getting those first downs and proving that he can make plays in the flats and on the short screens and not just in the back field.

Percy Harvin, 2009 ROY Harvin has made plays from day one. Whether it is running back a 97 yard kick off return or receiving in the slot for a twenty yard gain, Harvin makes this offense. If he is out on the field, Harvin is demanding coverage. He can not be left alone or with a single DB, he must take on a safety or a CB. This is what Moss was doing for Harvin, hence in the week after coming to the Vikings from the Patriots, Harvin has become a totally new player. This year he is leading the team in reception and yards, at 40 reception 519 yards, and 3 touchdowns. And if not for the fumble last week against the Cardinals he would have had a game to remember. Percy is only in his second year. He is still learning and he will be come a force to reckon with in the NFL for some time to come.

The Bad: Brett Favre, offensive line, defensive line, and WR. Now not all of this is bad, but it is hard to find any good that has come out of it. Brett had a career day last week against the Cardinals, and the defensive line had six sacks, four of which where in the fourth quarter, and yes Berrian, Harvin, Lewis and Shainco all made great plays, but it is the inconsistency that has been abound in this organization. One week the Wide outs can't catch anything that is thrown their way and the next week they are making plays. And then the one Wide out who they thought would make the biggest diffidence was cut four week after being traded for, and the others needed him here to be able to make plays. This is showing signs of desperation and we need Rice back as soon as possible.

Our defense is dead. Where is the pressure? The Vikings lead the NFL in sacks last year with 48. This year they only had 6 going into last weeks game. Jared Allen (Whom I find to be the best DE in the NFL) has a total of one sack going into last week. Early in the year he was taking two offensive players on him but after the Jets he has only been taking on one offensive player and still getting beat. He needs to wake up. This is not a bash on Jared, it is a picture of what this line has been going threw. All four, Allen, Williams, Williams, and Edwards have had a mediocre start to their year. Going into the Second half of the season expect them to take on the challenge of make more plays.

Offensive of line has been just horrible. I have never seen a quarter back hit as many times has Favre has. This will be the Achilles heal of the team. In order for the team to become a Super Bowl team the must get better at protecting Favre, make room for AP, and keep the defenders out of the back field. If the can just improve their play a little this team can make more time for Favre.

The Ugly: Brad Childress, is one of the worst coaches I have ever seen. Its not that he is a terrible play caller, though I feel he is, its not how he looks, or how he talks, it how he treats the fans of the game. Brad makes Vikings fans feel that we have nothing at steak when it comes to this team. When talking about the waiver of Moss, Childress hid and acted as though the fans did something bad for wanting to not see him go. He didn't want to give explanation or reasoning on why he let one of the Vikings all time leaders in yards and receptions go. This team must look at other options for coaches. He is not a guy that can relate to the fans, nor can he keep morale up within the fan base, with his decisions. It's time for the team to make a change.

Until next time, Keep on Watching

No comments:

Post a Comment